Republicans Sweep Ohio House, Senate Races


Republicans held on to or won seats to the Ohio House of Representatives or Senate in all four local races for those positions.

Incumbent Republican Scott Wiggam defeated two challengers — Democrat Kevin Barnet and Libertarian Elizabeth Thomas — to retain his seat in the 1st District, which encompasses all of Wayne County.

Wiggam tallied 25,802 votes to Barnet’s 11,440 and Thomas’ 1,693.

Wiggam said he spent a lot of time going door-to-door campaigning. “I was hearing a lot of straight-ticket type talk,” he said. “A lot of folks talked to me about personal issues, so I was also asking them to call my office so we could help them out.”

During his first term as state representative, Wiggam sponsored 10 house bills and was the co-sponsor of 127. He sponsored 17 resolutions and co-sponsored seven. House Bill 254, titled the POW/​MIA Remembrance Act, requires the POW/​MIA flag to be displayed at certain buildings operated by the State of Ohio on Armed Forces Day, Memorial Day, Flag Day, Independence Day, National POW/​MIA Recognition Day and Veterans Day.

Moving forward Wiggam will continue to work for residents and elected officials of Wayne County to put tax dollars to work in the community.

In the race for State Senate in the 27th District, which includes all of Wayne County, Republican Kristina Daley Roegner defeated Democrat Adam VanHo. The two were running to succeed Republican Frank LaRose, who has served two terms in the seat and on Tuesday was elected Secretary of State.

Roegner, a Hudson resident, is currently a state representative for the 37th district, where she was term-limited. On Tuesday night, she said she wanted to thank 27th district voters in Wayne, Stark and Summit counties for their support.

“I look forward to serving them in the general assembly,” Roegner said. “I believe Ohio has a very bright future, and I give glory to God for this election victory.”

Roegner won with 82,550 votes to VanHo’s 58,385.

Incumbent Loudonville farmer Darrell Kick held onto his seat against a spirited campaign run by Ashland businessman Steve Johnson for state representative of the 70th District, serving Ashland County and parts of Holmes and Medina counties.

Kick, a Republican, garnered nearly three quarters of the votes in Holmes County, 2,654 to 794 for Johnson, while winning nearly 72 percent of the vote in Ashland County, drawing 12,825 votes to 5,188 over the Democratic challenger.

“I’m thankful for the support and the opportunity to continue to serve,” Kick said. “When I hear people say they voted for me, and my daughter has a T-shirt on and people walk up and say ‘hey, my parents voted for him,’ it really makes your chest warm up in your heart area. Not everyone can know me personally, but I feel my message has gotten out there enough where they feel like they can trust me. And that is what I’m working to keep.”

Kick looks forward to returning to Columbus and finishing what he started two years ago when he took over for Republican Dave Hall in the 70th District.

“There are some things I haven’t gotten done yet,” Kick said. “Of course, in your first term, you’re still trying to figure things out, who’s on your side, who is going to help you and who is playing with you, and all that turmoil that is politics.

“I’ve gotten some members I can trust, and some lobbyists I’ve gotten to know, and we’ll go forward with some different bills and some things coming up in the new year,” he continued. “I’m looking forward to it. It’s going to be interesting, the way things are holding right now. It looks like it will be another Republican governor, which could possibly change our lame duck session.

Republican incumbent Jay Hottinger won re-election against Democrat Melinda Miller in the 31st Senate District, which includes southern and northeastern Holmes County. Hottinger claimed 84,162 votes to Miller’s 41,511.


This article provided by NewsEdge.